Accelerators & funding
The Gulf Seller Gap · A8
Twenty-five GCC programmes against their own pages. No e-commerce vertical anywhere except one in Riyadh, every free-zone accelerator wants a new trade licence, and no accelerator route to a Golden Visa.
Proven rule. Every body claim traces to a primary source (the programme's own site, or a government page). Aggregator listicles (MAGNiTT, Wamda, generic "best accelerators" posts) were used only as leads to find the real URL — never cited as evidence. Every deadline below carries an accessed-date of 2026-09-05, and anything that reads as a past cohort is flagged explicitly rather than presented as current.
Source legend
- [A8-S1] Hub71 — hub71.com/program/access-programme, /apply, /faqs, /i-am-a-startup (2026-09-05)
- [A8-S2] in5 — infive.ae/faqs/, /about-us/, /business-setup/, /in5-tech/ (2026-09-05)
- [A8-S3] Dtec — dtec.ae/, /faqs/, /business-setup/, /accelerator/ (dated 2021 — stale content, not cited as a term source); dso.ae/dubai-technology-entrepreneurship-campus-dtec- (2026-09-05)
- [A8-S4] AstroLabs — astrolabs.com/business-setup-in-uae, /corporate-innovation-programs, /market-entry-programs (2026-09-05)
- [A8-S5] Dubai Future District Fund — dfdf.vc/, /about/, /the-dubai-future-district-fund-investment-strategy; dubaifuture.ae/dubai-future-district-fund/; dubaifuturedistrict.ae/offering/dubai-future-fund/ (2026-09-05)
- [A8-S6] Dubai Future Accelerators / AI4Gov — dubaifuture.ae/initiatives/future-design-and-acceleration/dubai-future-accelerators/, /how-it-works/, /ai4gov, /latest-news/dubais-ai-accelerator-calls-on-tech-innovators-to-engineer-the-future-of-government-services/ (2026-09-05)
- [A8-S7] Sheraa — sheraa.ae/, /membership; blueprint.sheraa.ae/courses/startup-blueprint; startups.sheraa.ae/, /asc2025; asc.sheraa.ae/, /s3-program (2026-09-05)
- [A8-S8] MBRIF — mof.gov.ae/en/about-ministry/our-partners/mohammed-bin-rashid-innovation-fund/; mbrif.ae/about-us/, /accelerator-2/, /guarantee-scheme-2/, /faq-2/, /sectors/; mbrif.acceleratorapp.co/apply/program/cohort-13 (2026-09-05)
- [A8-S9] Flat6Labs — flat6labs.com/Location/uae/, /program/ignite/, /programs/, /Location/bahrain/, /apply-now/; flat6labsbahrain.com/apply/ (2026-09-05)
- [A8-S10] Antler MENAP — antler.co/cohort-start-dates, /location/menap, /apply; mediaoffice.ae/en/news/2026/february/10-02/ (Dubai govt press release, dated 2026-02-10) (2026-09-05)
- [A8-S11] 500 Global MENA / Sanabil — 500.co/mena; mena.aplica.500.co/, /en/sites/mena; finance.yahoo.com mirror of the official Batch 10 press release (2026-09-05)
- [A8-S12] Plug and Play Abu Dhabi — fintechnews.ae articles dated 2019-04-01 and 2023-03-27; plugandplaytechcenter.com/abu-dhabi (JS shell, unreadable) (2026-09-05)
- [A8-S13] Wa'ed Ventures — aramco.com/en/what-we-do/commercial-ecosystems/waed-ventures; aramco.com/en/news-media/elements-magazine/2025/waed-ventures (2026-09-05; waed.com itself unreachable throughout)
- [A8-S14] The Garage (Riyadh) — saudipedia.com/en/the-garage-project (2026-09-05; thegarage.sa and spa.gov.sa both 403-blocked — not independently verified on the operator's own site); techstars.com/newsroom/techstars-startup-weekend-riyadh-powered-by-the-garage-launches-february-12 (2026-09-05)
- [A8-S15] Monsha'at / Kafalah / SVC / Jada — kafalah.gov.sa/en/About/Pages/default.aspx, /en/Help/FAQ/Pages/default.aspx; monshaat.gov.sa/en/acc; svc.com.sa/en/programs/; jada.com.sa/portfolio (2026-09-05)
- [A8-S16] KAUST — taqadam.kaust.edu.sa/; kaust.edu.sa/en/innovate/kaust-entrepreneurship-programs, /innovate (2026-09-05)
- [A8-S17] Techstars GCC — techstars.com/accelerators (live listing, no GCC entry); saudipedia.com/en/riyadh-techstars-accelerator; mcit.gov.sa/ar/code-landingpage (no Techstars mention); techstars.com/newsroom/techstars-startup-weekend-riyadh-powered-by-the-garage-launches-february-12 (2026-09-05)
- [A8-S18] Amazon Launchpad — sell.amazon.in/grow-your-business/launchpad (representative Launchpad page); sell.amazon.ae/ (Launchpad absent from listed programmes) (2026-09-05)
- [A8-S19] AWS Activate — aws.amazon.com/startups/credits, /activate/ (2026-09-05)
- [A8-S20] Amazon SP-API / Solution Provider Network / Solution Provider Portal / Ads Partner Network — developer.amazonservices.com/amazon-service-provider-network, /tools/solution-provider-portal; advertising.amazon.com/partners (2026-09-05)
- [A8-S21] noon API Platform — noon-docs.noonpartners.dev/docs/getting-started/intro; helpcenter.noon.partners/en/category/global-selling/noon-api-platform (2026-09-05)
- [A8-S22] DET x Amazon Accelerator — sell.amazon.ae/ (2026-09-05)
- [A8-S23] UAE Golden Visa (entrepreneur category) — icp.gov.ae/en/services/golden-visa/, /en/services-details/?serviceid=68e34f115ae59b00117383d9, /en/faq/ (2026-09-05)
- [A8-S24] Dubai Virtual Working Programme — u.ae official page (title indexed; direct fetch 404'd twice — secondary-confidence content only) (2026-09-05)
- [A8-S25] Saudi Premium Residency / MISA — misa.gov.sa/en/ (homepage only; dedicated eligibility page unreachable; pr.gov.sa is JS-blocked, only page titles resolved). Figures beyond this rest on secondary sources (sovereigngroup.com, immigrantinvest.com, tascoutsourcing.sa) and are flagged PARKED (2026-09-05)
1. What we found
Headline pattern
Twenty-five programmes/instruments were checked against their own primary pages. Three structural patterns recur:
- Every UAE free-zone accelerator (Hub71, in5, Dtec) requires a brand-new, dedicated trade
licence issued by that specific authority — an ADGM Tech Startup Licence for Hub71, a DDA
FZ-LLC for in5, a DSO/DIEZ licence for Dtec. SHIO LLC, wherever it is licensed, does not
transfer in; it can at most sit as the holding parent of the new subsidiary (confirmed
explicitly for Hub71 and in5)
[A8-S1][A8-S2]. This is a real sequencing cost: incorporation is not a one-time event for this founder, it is a recurring one per programme joined. - No programme found — anywhere in the GCC — runs a dedicated e-commerce, marketplace-seller,
or seller-tooling vertical. The single exception is 500 Global's Sanabil accelerator, which
names "e-commerce, e-commerce enablement" as an explicit eligible sector [A8-S11] — see
Escalation below. Hub71 and in5 both treat AI as a cross-cutting tag, not a vertical
[A8-S1][A8-S2]. - Golden Visa nomination is not a stated benefit of any accelerator checked. Zero hits for "golden" across hub71.com, infive.ae, dtec.ae, astrolabs.com, sheraa.ae, mbrif.ae, or antler.co. The Golden Visa's own eligibility page never names an incubator either — see §1.3.
Escalation [per Area Brief A8 criterion 1]. 500 Global MENA's Sanabil accelerator explicitly lists "e-commerce" and "e-commerce enablement" as eligible sectors [A8-S11] — this is the one programme in the entire set built for something adjacent to a GCC marketplace-seller AI SaaS. Caveat: it requires existing traction and real customers ("real traction, deep customer understanding, and technology that could scale rapidly"), is based in Riyadh, not Dubai (correcting the Area Brief's premise), and its current intake (Batch 12) already closed 9 Aug 2026. Sequencing implication: build to revenue before Batch 13.
Escalation [per Area Brief A8 criterion 2]. SHIO LLC (existing UAE free-zone entity) already satisfies the entry bar for MBRIF ("UAE based or looking to set up... in the near future," no new licence required [A8-S8]), AWS Activate Founders tier (self-funded, <10yrs old, apply directly [A8-S19]), and Amazon's SP-API / Solution Provider Portal (valid business licence is enough [A8-S20]) — these three are available today, with no new incorporation and no waiting for a cohort. Conversely, SHIO LLC clearly fails the entry bar for Hub71/in5/Dtec (new dedicated licence required) and for KAUST TAQADAM, which requires a minimum two-person founding team [A8-S16] — Ilia is currently solo. Both cut in the same direction: the cheapest next moves are MBRIF + AWS Activate + SP-API registration; the free-zone accelerators and TAQADAM require a prior structural decision (new entity, co-founder) before they are even appliable-to.
1.1 Eligibility mechanics — entity, co-founder, relocation, team size
| Programme | New entity required before/at joining? | Co-founder / min team | Relocation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hub71 Access | Yes — new ADGM Tech Startup Licence (SHIO can be holding parent) [A8-S1] | Solo OK | Mandatory — long-term Abu Dhabi presence |
| in5 Tech | Yes — new in5/DDA FZ-LLC (existing entity can be shareholder) [A8-S2] | Solo allowed, team "recommended" | Required post-approval, not to apply |
| Dtec | Yes — new DSO/DIEZ licence (Dtec issues it) [A8-S3] | No minimum found | Not to apply; ≥36hrs/mo desk use once in |
| AstroLabs | Yes — but this is a paid service, not a selective programme [A8-S4] | None (pay-to-join) | Not required for virtual/semi-virtual tiers |
| DFDF | No formal apply process exists [A8-S5] | N/A | N/A |
| DFA / AI4Gov | Not stated [A8-S6] | Team cap "up to two" for residency | Short-term (8wk), paid |
| Sheraa – Startup Blueprint | None [A8-S7] | None | None |
| Sheraa – S3 | None — issues its own first-year licence [A8-S7] | "Dedicated full-time founder" | UAE presence for milestones, not full move |
| Sheraa – ASC | Explicitly NOT required [A8-S7] | Not stated | Post-selection UAE setup support offered |
| MBRIF | Explicitly NOT required — UAE-based or planning to be [A8-S8] | Not stated | Not stated |
| Flat6Labs Ignite | Must already be a registered private company (own IP) [A8-S9] | Not stated | Mandatory — long-term Abu Dhabi presence |
| Antler MENAP | Not stated (jurisdiction unspecified) [A8-S10] | Solo admitted to residency, but Antler "typically does not invest in solo founders" post-programme [A8-S10] | Full-time in-person, 10 weeks |
| 500 Global / Sanabil | Not stated for portfolio cos (fund itself is Delaware) [A8-S11] | Not stated | Hybrid (secondary-sourced only) |
| Wa'ed Ventures | Not explicit; "localise... tech teams and R&D" required post-investment for foreign cos [A8-S13] | Not stated | Implied post-investment, not pre-application |
| Monsha'at Kafalah | Saudi commercial registration required; foreign-majority-owned OK only if it clears a Nitaqat Saudisation bar [A8-S15] | N/A (loan guarantee) | N/A |
| SVC direct co-investment | "Saudi based or expanding to Saudi" — exact timing gate unclear [A8-S15] | Not stated | Not stated |
| KAUST TAQADAM | No KSA entity/citizenship required — open to international founders with a credible 1-yr Saudi-expansion plan [A8-S16] | Minimum two founders — hard gate for a solo founder [A8-S16] | Hybrid; visa/flight support provided for in-person weeks |
| Amazon SP-API / SPN / SPP | Valid business licence (SHIO LLC qualifies) [A8-S20] | None | None |
| AWS Activate (Founders) | None — self-funded, <10yrs old [A8-S19] | None | None |
| noon API Platform | Not stated; no formal onboarding gate found [A8-S21] | None | None |
1.2 What each optimises for
Split cleanly into three groups — this determines what the application has to claim, not just what it has to be:
- Wants revenue/customer traction (a product pitch, not a mission pitch): Flat6Labs Ignite (MVP + pilot/revenue) [A8-S9]; 500 Global / Sanabil (real traction, deep customer understanding) [A8-S11]; Sheraa S3 (existing revenue) and ASC (Series A/B) [A8-S7]; MBRIF (post-ideation product, "quality of the innovation") [A8-S8]; Wa'ed (team + market size + problem-solution fit) [A8-S13].
- Wants founder quality / day-zero conviction, traction optional: Antler MENAP explicitly — "relentless ambition and true founder DNA," top 1% of applicants, values serial entrepreneurs and domain experts over current metrics [A8-S10]. KAUST TAQADAM sits between the two groups: it wants evidence (customer interviews, signed LOIs) but is explicitly framed around bringing outside innovation into the Kingdom [A8-S16].
- Wants local economic/national-strategy alignment, not general traction: in5 (explicit
scored criterion — "economic impact on the community... job creation potential") [A8-S2];
Dtec (implicit — job-creation stats as its own marketing metric) [A8-S3]; DFA/AI4Gov (must
literally improve a named Dubai government service — a commercial SaaS pitch does not fit
without reframing) [A8-S6]; Sheraa ASC (must solve a named Sharjah government/regulator
problem — this is national-strategy alignment, not a market pitch) [A8-S7]; Wa'ed and SVC
both frame around Vision 2030 diversification and "National Champions"
[A8-S13][A8-S15]; Monsha'at Kafalah is explicitly gated on Saudisation/Nitaqat compliance, the clearest "job-creation-for-nationals" gate found in this research [A8-S15].
An application to Hub71 or Antler is a fundability pitch. An application to in5, Dtec, or Sheraa-ASC is a "what does this do for our emirate" pitch. These are not interchangeable decks, and conflating them is the likeliest way to weaken an otherwise strong application.
1.3 Visa and residency consequences
| Instrument | What it actually grants | Incubator link confirmed? | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| UAE Golden Visa — entrepreneur category | 10-year (FAQ page) or possibly 5-year (secondary synthesis only — inconsistent, unresolved) residency. Requires: (a) a letter from "the competent authority in the emirate" confirming the project is innovative/future-oriented, and (b) an accredited-auditor letter confirming project value ≥ AED 500,000 [A8-S23] | Not confirmed. Neither the ICP service page nor its FAQ names Hub71, in5, Sheraa, or DFF anywhere. Multiple non-government sources assert these incubators' acceptance letters are accepted in practice as the "competent authority" letter, but this could not be verified on a .gov page — hub71.com/golden-visa 404s. Parked. |
[A8-S23] |
| Dubai Virtual Working Programme | 1-year renewable status, ~USD 287/person + insurance, for people who live/work outside the UAE. Likely moot — Ilia already holds UAE residency via SHIO LLC | N/A — solves a different problem | [A8-S24] (secondary-confidence — direct fetch 404'd) |
| Hub71 / in5 / Dtec / AstroLabs standard visas | Standard free-zone employment/investor residence visas (2–3yr), bundled into the licence fee. Not Golden Visa | No | [A8-S1][A8-S2][A8-S3][A8-S4] |
| Antler MENAP | No sponsorship — "founders responsible for arranging visas" stated explicitly; only confirmation/tourist-visa guidance offered | No | [A8-S10] |
| Saudi Premium Residency | Permanent (~SAR 800,000 one-time, secondary-sourced) or Renewable (~SAR 100,000/yr, secondary-sourced) — sponsor-free residency, business ownership without a Saudi partner. Figures not confirmed on a primary government page (pr.gov.sa is JS-blocked; only page titles resolved) | N/A | [A8-S25] — PARKED, secondary only |
| MISA investor licence (Saudi) | Business-entity-tied residency/work-visa support, distinct from Premium Residency. MISA homepage confirms a "Visiting Investor Visa" and an "Investor Guide," but the dedicated eligibility/fee page could not be reached | N/A | [A8-S25] — PARKED |
| KAUST TAQADAM | Visa + flight logistics support for the in-person weeks — not a residency product | No | [A8-S16] |
Bottom line on visas: nothing researched converts an accelerator seat into a Golden Visa automatically. The Golden Visa's entrepreneur route runs on its own track (an emirate authority's letter + an auditor's AED 500,000 valuation letter), and whether any of the UAE programmes above count as that "competent authority" is unverified from a government source. This should be checked directly with ICP before it is relied on in a Brief.
1.4 A realistic 12-month calendar (2026-09-05 → 2027-09-05)
| When | Action | Programme | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Now | Apply — application portal is live today | MBRIF Cohort 13 | [A8-S8] |
| Now | Enroll — free, rolling, no deadline | Sheraa Startup Blueprint | [A8-S7] |
| Now | Self-serve registration, no selection process | AWS Activate (Founders tier, $1–5k credit) | [A8-S19] |
| Now | Self-serve registration, no selection process | Amazon SP-API / Solution Provider Portal | [A8-S20] |
| Now | Self-serve registration, no formal programme exists but door is open | noon API Platform | [A8-S21] |
| ~Now, tight | Next Dubai cohort starts 11 Oct 2026; apply immediately via info session if targeting it — realistically too tight a runway from a 2026-09-05 start; more likely target the cohort after | Antler MENAP (Dubai) | [A8-S10] |
| Nov–Dec 2026 (unconfirmed, PARKED) | Batch 13 applications likely open based on the observed ~4-month cadence between batches — not announced as of 2026-09-05 | 500 Global / Sanabil | [A8-S11] |
| No date set — monitor | Cycle 3 not yet announced (Cycle 2 closed Aug 2025) | Dubai Future Accelerators / AI4Gov | [A8-S6] |
| No date set — monitor | Next cohort not yet announced (last closed Sep 2025) | Sheraa S3 | [A8-S7] |
| No date set — monitor | 2026 theme/cycle not yet announced (2025 cycle closed Aug 2025) | Sheraa Access Sharjah Challenge | [A8-S7] |
| No date set — monitor | No live UAE or Bahrain cohort as of 2026-09-05; watch flat6labs.com/programs/ | Flat6Labs UAE / Bahrain | [A8-S9] |
| No date set — monitor | Annual (~800 applicants/yr); needs a co-founder secured first (2-person minimum) | KAUST TAQADAM | [A8-S16] |
| No date set — evergreen | Best approached once there is revenue/traction; foreign teams face a post-investment "localise in KSA" condition | Wa'ed Ventures | [A8-S13] |
| No date set — evergreen | Min ticket ~$267k/SAR 1M co-investment, not a fit until raising a priced round | SVC direct co-investment | [A8-S15] |
| Feb 2027 | Application deadline for Cohort 21 (confirmed current and live, not stale, as of 2026-09-05) | Hub71 Access | [A8-S1] |
| Sept 2027 | Cohort 21 programme start — requires a new ADGM Tech Startup Licence subsidiary and committing to relocate to Abu Dhabi | Hub71 Access | [A8-S1] |
1.5 Amazon and noon first-party programmes
Five Amazon/noon-run tracks were checked; the honest finding is that Amazon and noon do not run a startup accelerator, hackathon, or funding competition for third-party seller-tooling vendors — what exists instead is self-serve technical/partner access:
- Amazon Launchpad [A8-S18] — ruled out entirely. It requires Brand Registry + a "market-ready, consumer-facing physical product" and is not listed among amazon.ae's own seller programmes. Built for a product brand, not a software vendor.
- AWS Activate [A8-S19] — real and usable today: Founders tier ($1–5k credit, no gatekeeper) is unrelated to Amazon's retail/seller ecosystem — it is cloud infrastructure credit from the separate AWS business. Portfolio tier ($200k) requires prior accelerator/VC affiliation, creating a sequencing dependency on the programmes above.
- Amazon SP-API / Solution Provider Network / Solution Provider Portal / Ads Partner Network [A8-S20] — this is the actual "join Amazon's ecosystem" mechanism for a seller-tools SaaS: self-serve developer registration, an optional SPN agency-directory listing, and an Ads Partner Network explicitly open to "tool providers offering specialized software solutions." No fee, no funding, no selection committee. MENA/UAE scope of the Ads Partner Network specifically was not confirmed either way — parked.
- noon API Platform [A8-S21] — architecturally open to "service providers and partners building tooling around analytics, fulfillment, logistics, or multi-channel management," but there is no certification programme, no fee structure, and no accelerator/funding track. "noon Manafea" does not exist — confirmed false lead (an unrelated Islamic Chamber of Commerce initiative). No evidence noon has ever run or sponsored its own accelerator.
- DET x Amazon Accelerator [A8-S22] — despite the name, this is a seller-acquisition incentive (any Dubai trade licence qualifies for AED 2,000 ad credit + 6 months free support) aimed at people becoming amazon.ae product sellers, not at software vendors. Not a fit for the AI SaaS business, though SHIO LLC could use it unrelatedly as an existing amazon.ae seller.
- GCC telco accelerators (stc inspireU, e& ventures) — checked lightly per instruction; no e-commerce/retail-tech-specific programme surfaced on a primary page. Not pursued further.
2. Capability / object table
2.1 Accelerators, incubators, VC and government funding programmes
| Programme | Country | Stage taken | Sector focus | Terms (equity / cash / in-kind) | Incorporation required? | Cohort dates + deadline | What it optimises for | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hub71 – Access | UAE (Abu Dhabi/ADGM) | Pre-seed–Series A | Sector-agnostic; AI is a cross-cut tag (Hub71+AI), no e-comm vertical | AED 250k cash via SAFE (equity % undisclosed) + AED 250k in-kind; +AED 250k top-up later | New ADGM Tech Startup Licence subsidiary (SHIO can be holding parent) | Cohort 21: deadline Feb 2027, starts Sept 2027 — current, not stale | Fundability, growth potential, Abu Dhabi presence | [A8-S1] |
| in5 Tech | UAE (Dubai/TECOM) | Idea/MVP through 1yr+ registered | "Digitalisation of traditional business" incl. AI; no e-comm vertical | 0% equity; no cash — investor intros only; $120k IBM + $120k Azure + $5k AWS credits; subsidised licence/office/visas | New in5 FZ-LLC (DDA) licence | Rolling, no fixed deadline | Innovation + local job creation (explicit scored criterion) | [A8-S2] |
| Dtec | UAE (Dubai Silicon Oasis/DIEZ) | Any tech stage | Broad "tech"; no AI/e-comm vertical | 0% equity; no direct cash (hosts Oraseya Capital as a separate VC process); coworking + visa AED 18–48k/yr | New DSO/DIEZ trade licence via Dtec | No cohort — rolling coworking/licensing service | Tech-sector job creation, zone activity | [A8-S3] |
| AstroLabs | UAE (Dubai/DMCC) + KSA (Riyadh/MISA) | Any — paid service, not selective | General; multi-sector DMCC, no AI/e-comm vertical | 0% equity; you pay them (AED 24k+/yr virtual → AED 3.5k+/mo coworking) | New DMCC/MISA licence — this is their product, not an accelerator | No cohort — always-open commercial service | N/A — revenue business, no selection | [A8-S4] |
| Dubai Future District Fund | UAE (Dubai/DIFC) | Seed–growth | "Future Economy" incl. AI; no e-comm vertical | Undisclosed — no published check size/equity | No formal apply process found | No cohort/deadline — discretionary VC deployment | Dubai GDP growth + job creation | [A8-S5] |
| Dubai Future Accelerators / AI4Gov | UAE (Dubai) | No stage filter — challenge-fit | AI-for-government-services only — narrow fit for a commercial seller SaaS | 0% equity; no cash; sponsored flights/lodging, 8wk residency for ≤2 people | Not stated | Cycle 2 closed Aug 2025, ran Oct–Nov 2025; no Cycle 3 announced — stale, monitor | Government-service transformation, not commercial traction | [A8-S6] |
| Sheraa – Startup Blueprint | UAE (Sharjah) | Idea/validation | Sector-agnostic | Free; education only, no cash/equity | None | Rolling/open | Founder education, feeds S3 pipeline | [A8-S7] |
| Sheraa – S3 (Startup Studio) | UAE (Sharjah) | Requires existing revenue/traction | Priority: EdTech, sustainability, mfg, creative — not e-comm | Equity-free; free 1st-yr Sharjah licence; ~AED 3M+ software perks | Issues its own licence — none pre-existing needed | Last cohort closed Sep 2025, ran to Feb 2026 — closed, next cycle unannounced | Committed Sharjah presence + scalable tech model | [A8-S7] |
| Sheraa – Access Sharjah Challenge | UAE (Sharjah) | Series A/B — not pre-seed | Rotates yearly; 2025 = Education | AED 250k (~$68k) POC contract + $1M+ in-kind; 0% equity | Explicitly not required | 2025 cycle closed Aug 2025, ran to Feb 2026 showcase — closed, 2026 theme unannounced | Solves a named Sharjah gov/regulator problem | [A8-S7] |
| MBRIF – Innovation Accelerator | UAE (federal) | Post-ideation (MVP+) | 7 priority sectors incl. Technology/AI; e-commerce cited approvingly as a portfolio example | 0% equity, no fees; non-financial support | Explicitly not required | Cohort 13 application portal live now — apply immediately; exact deadline unextractable (JS portal) | Knowledge-economy transition, quality of innovation | [A8-S8] |
| MBRIF – Guarantee Scheme | UAE (federal) | Growth/revenue-stage only | Same 7 sectors | Non-dilutive loan guarantee, amount undisclosed | UAE presence required | Ongoing, not cohort-based | Same as above; unlocks bank financing | [A8-S8] |
| Flat6Labs Ignite (w/ ADQ) | UAE (Abu Dhabi) | Seed, MVP+pilot/revenue preferred | General tech, no e-comm/AI vertical | $150–250k initial + $200–500k follow-on; equity % undisclosed | Must already be a registered private company | No live UAE cohort found as of 2026-09-05 — closed/absent | Traction (MVP + pilot/revenue), scaling potential | [A8-S9] |
| Flat6Labs Bahrain | Bahrain | — | — | — | — | Apply URL is dead (404) — defunct | — | [A8-S9] |
| Antler MENAP (Dubai) | UAE (Dubai) | Idea–pre-seed | Industry-agnostic, AI eligible; no e-comm vertical | $180k SAFE for 11% equity + up to $320k uncapped follow-on | Not stated | Next cohort starts 11 Oct 2026; rolling application via info session — apply soon | Founder quality/"founder DNA," not current traction | [A8-S10] |
| 500 Global / Sanabil | Saudi Arabia (Riyadh — not Dubai) | Early-traction, real customers | AI, cybersecurity, data infra, e-commerce & e-commerce enablement, fintech, martech — explicit e-comm fit | ~$100k+ equity (exact % undisclosed); ~$35k "Phase 1" fee, relationship to investment unclear | Not stated for portfolio cos | Batch 12 closed 9 Aug 2026, runs 27 Sep–9 Dec 2026; Batch 13 unannounced | Real traction + scalable tech + customer understanding | [A8-S11] |
| Plug and Play Abu Dhabi | UAE (Abu Dhabi/ADGM, ADIO) | Unknown — historically fintech-only | Historically fintech/banking-risk only — no confirmed retail/e-comm/AI track | No fee to startups (2019 cohort); no equity found | Not found | No confirmed live 2026 cohort — most recent readable evidence is 2019/2023, site unreadable | Corporate-partner problem matching, not general traction | [A8-S12] |
| Wa'ed Ventures (Saudi Aramco) | Saudi Arabia | Seed–growth (VC, not cohort-based) | ICT, energy, mfg, healthcare, services; 2024 AI pivot ($100M allocation) | $2–20M equity cheques; no grant | Not explicit pre-application; "localise tech team/R&D in KSA" required post-investment for foreign cos | Evergreen VC — no cohort dates | Founder team + market size; Vision 2030/"National Champions" framing | [A8-S13] |
| The Garage (Riyadh) | Saudi Arabia | Early-stage (Incubator) / global (Plus, unverified) | "Emerging tech," broad | ~SAR 100k grants; "up to SAR 500k+ for select startups" (vague) | Not found — operator site 403-blocked | 11th accelerator cohort referenced but deadline unrecoverable — weakly verified | Broad "4th Industrial Revolution" framing | [A8-S14] |
| Monsha'at – Kafalah | Saudi Arabia | Revenue/growth (bank-loan-dependent) | General SME + "Startup Product" (<3yrs) | Government guarantees ~80% of a bank loan — not itself capital | Saudi commercial registration required; foreign-majority-owned OK only if it clears a Nitaqat Saudisation bar | Ongoing, not cohort-based | Bank-lending risk reduction + Saudisation compliance | [A8-S15] |
| Monsha'at – Business Accelerators | Saudi Arabia | Varies by past cohort | 9 named verticals incl. E-Commerce Accelerator | Free; >SAR 100M invested in aggregate across all cohorts | Not stated | All 9 listed cohorts dated 2019–2023; E-Commerce Accelerator ended Mar 2023 — stale, no successor found | Sector-specific SME capability building | [A8-S15] |
| Saudi Venture Capital Co. (SVC) | Saudi Arabia | Seed+ (min ticket ~$267k/SAR 1M) | General "impact/strategic sectors," no e-comm carve-out | 1:1 co-investment match, capped at 30% of round | "Saudi based or expanding to Saudi" — exact timing gate unclear | Ongoing, no cohort dates | Crowding in private capital to Saudi-relevant deals | [A8-S15] |
| KAUST TAQADAM | Saudi Arabia (hybrid) | Idea/prototype with early customer validation | Open to all industries incl. AI/fintech/logistics; no e-comm vertical named, not excluded | Non-dilutive grant: $40k initial + up to $100k more (max $140k) | Not required — open to non-Saudi founders with a credible 1-yr Saudi-expansion plan | Annual (~800 applicants/yr); next deadline not found | Traction evidence (LOIs) + team strength; "expand to Saudi" framing | [A8-S16] |
| Techstars (GCC) | — | — | — | — | — | Not currently live anywhere in the GCC. One past Riyadh cohort (Nov 2021, $120k/startup) never repeated; MCIT's own current platform no longer lists Techstars at all. The only live 2026 artifact is "Techstars Startup Weekend Riyadh" — non-equity, 54hrs, dated 12–14 Feb 2026, already past as of today | (historically) national digital-economy training | [A8-S17] |
2.2 Marketplace first-party and infrastructure programmes
| Programme | Fit for a 3rd-party AI SaaS | What it actually is | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon Launchpad | Rule out | Physical-product-brand marketing programme, requires Brand Registry; not listed among amazon.ae's own seller programmes | [A8-S18] |
| AWS Activate (Founders) | Use now | $1–5k cloud credit, self-serve, no gatekeeper | [A8-S19] |
| AWS Activate (Portfolio) | Later | $200k cloud credit, but requires prior accelerator/VC affiliation | [A8-S19] |
| SP-API / Solution Provider Portal / SPN | Use now — this is the real "join" mechanism | Self-serve developer registration + optional agency directory listing; no fee, no funding, no selection | [A8-S20] |
| Amazon Ads Partner Network | Possible fit if ads-optimisation is in scope | Certification/directory for "tool providers offering specialized software solutions"; MENA scope unconfirmed | [A8-S20] |
| noon API Platform | Use now for technical access | Self-serve developer docs, explicitly welcomes tooling/system-integrator partners; no formal programme, fee, or funding | [A8-S21] |
| DET x Amazon Accelerator | Rule out for the SaaS | Seller-acquisition incentive for anyone with a Dubai trade licence becoming an amazon.ae seller; relevant only to SHIO's own seller account | [A8-S22] |
3. Reconciliation notes
Reconciliation note. The Area Brief's premise names "500 Global MENA... based in Dubai." The programme's own primary page states its regional HQ, and the Sanabil accelerator itself, are in Riyadh, not Dubai [A8-S11]. Resolved in favor of the primary source — corrected in the table above.
Reconciliation note. An aggregator (founderconnects.com) surfaced a "Cohort 20 / 21 August 2026" figure for Hub71 in search snippets. The live hub71.com apply page (fetched directly, raw HTML) states Cohort 21's deadline is February 2027, programme start September 2027 [A8-S1]. Resolved in favor of the primary page; the aggregator figure is stale/wrong and was not used.
Reconciliation note. MBRIF's operational status was uncertain going in (Area Brief flagged it as possibly folded into another entity). The Ministry of Finance's own partner page carries a "last updated 04/09/2026" timestamp, and a live Cohort 13 application portal exists [A8-S8]. Resolved: MBRIF is active, not defunct — this reverses the Brief's working assumption and is the single best-fit UAE programme found (sector match, no incorporation gate, live intake).
Reconciliation note. The Area Brief listed "any Techstars regional presence" as something to cover, implying one currently exists. Techstars' own live accelerators listing shows zero GCC entries; the one historical Riyadh cohort (2021) was never repeated, and MCIT's own current platform (which used to host the Techstars partnership) no longer mentions Techstars at all [A8-S17]. Resolved: no live Techstars accelerator exists in the GCC as of 2026-09-05 — only a non-equity 3-day event (already past). This should be dropped from any "apply here" shortlist.
Reconciliation note. Dubai Future Accelerators (Area Brief's framing: a general government-industry matching accelerator) has in practice narrowed its live application flow into "AI4Gov" cycles, which are explicitly scoped to improving a named Dubai government service [A8-S6]. This is a materially different, narrower thing than the Brief's premise of a general accelerator — treated in the table as AI4Gov, not classic DFA.
4. Open Questions / Parked
- Hub71's actual equity % taken via its SAFE note — not disclosed on any public page. [A8-S1]
- Whether Hub71/in5/Sheraa/DFF acceptance functions as the "competent authority" letter for
the UAE Golden Visa's entrepreneur route — asserted by non-government sources, not
confirmed on
icp.gov.ae.hub71.com/golden-visareturns a 404. [A8-S23] - UAE Golden Visa entrepreneur-route duration — the FAQ page implies 10 years for the category group; a secondary synthesis of other ICP content suggests 5 years tied specifically to the AED 500,000 project-value route. Needs a direct re-check via ICP's smartservices dashboard or call centre. [A8-S23]
- Saudi Premium Residency and MISA investor-licence exact figures — pr.gov.sa is a JS-rendered SPA that returned only page titles; misa.gov.sa's dedicated eligibility/fee page could not be located. Everything currently held is secondary-source (relocation-agency sites) and should be treated as indicative only, not relied on. [A8-S25]
- 500 Global / Sanabil Batch 13's actual opening date — inferred from a ~4-month cadence between Batches 10/11/12; not announced on any primary page as of 2026-09-05. [A8-S11]
- KAUST TAQADAM's next application deadline — the page describes the recurring annual structure (~800 applicants/yr) but not a dated open window for 2026/2027. [A8-S16]
- The Garage (Riyadh)'s current programme roster and eligibility — thegarage.sa and spa.gov.sa both returned 403 on every attempt; everything held rests on Saudipedia (a state-linked reference source) rather than the operator's own site. Flagged as the weakest-verified entry in the whole set; needs a follow-up pass with a different fetch method before being weighted heavily. [A8-S14]
- Whether MBRIF Cohort 13 has a hard deadline, and what it is — the application portal (mbrif.acceleratorapp.co) is a JS-rendered app that did not yield deadline text to a plain fetch. Recommend opening it directly. [A8-S8]
- Dtec's approved-business-activities list — whether e-commerce/SaaS activity codes are explicitly named is unconfirmed; a linked PDF was not independently fetched. [A8-S3]
- Amazon Ads Partner Network's MENA/UAE applicability — confirmed to exist and to be open to "tool providers," but MENA-marketplace scope specifically was neither confirmed nor denied on the fetched page. [A8-S20]
- "NamaaTech" and a distinct "Saudi Founders Fund" — could not be verified to exist as named entities under Monsha'at; likely a naming mix-up (SVC is the probable intended entity for the latter). Recommend dropping both from any downstream shortlist unless independently re-confirmed. [A8-S15]
- Plug and Play Abu Dhabi's current (2026) programme status — its GCC site is a client-rendered SPA that returned only an empty shell across every fetch method tried (WebFetch, curl with two user agents, Playwright, Scrapegraph); the only readable evidence is 2019 and 2023 vintage. A human should check the live site directly in a browser before this programme is used in any shortlist. [A8-S12]
- AstroLabs' Virtual Office tier without a new DMCC licence — whether an existing free-zone entity like SHIO LLC could access AstroLabs' community/coworking without taking out a fresh DMCC licence is not stated either way on the fetched pages. [A8-S4]
5. What this does NOT cover
- Bahrain, Kuwait, Qatar, and Oman programmes beyond what surfaced opportunistically (Flat6 Labs Bahrain, checked only because Flat6Labs itself runs a Bahrain location). Per SCOPE.md, GCC = UAE + KSA first; other GCC states are noted opportunistically only, not swept systematically.
- Which programme to actually apply to, or what the application should claim. Per the Area Brief, this decision is explicitly deferred to the Orchestrator.
- A verdict on whether accelerator terms (equity given up, relocation required) are worth it relative to bootstrapping. This finding reports what each programme requires and offers; it does not weigh that against the cost of not taking outside capital.
- Independent verification inside JS-rendered application portals (MBRIF Cohort 13's exact deadline, Saudi Premium Residency's fee schedule, Plug and Play's current GCC programme page) — these need a browser-capable follow-up pass, not a plain HTTP fetch.
- The eventual pitch/deck content. This finding establishes eligibility and mechanics only; it does not draft what SHIO's import-journey story or the AI-SaaS thesis should say in an application.
- SHIO's own Seller Central account state — explicitly out of scope per SCOPE.md; that remains a task for Ilia, not a Scout.
Eight parallel Scouts · four adversarial critics · nothing summarised away